In an ideal world, users would be aware of their devices’ locations at all times. But we’ve all lost (or thought we lost) a device somewhere along the road. It happens. And fortunately, Qualifio made it easy to reset your 2FA so your data stays secure. This article describes the steps on how to reset two-factor authentication (2FA).
With 2FA enabled, an attacker who stole your smartphone could hardly pretend to be you in order to gain access to your account – not without completing the first factor of authentication (i.e. your password). That being said, there’d still be an increased risk that unauthorised entities would be able to access your account (and important data stored in it).
What’s more, 2FA relies on users having a device with which to authenticate. Access to your 2FA codes is the only way for you to log in to your Qualifio account. So, if that device is lost or stolen, you’d be locked out of your account. Here’s how to recover your access.
2FA reset process
Please note: if you’re the only admin in your Qualifio account, you’ll need help from Qualifio Support.
"I lost my 2FA device!" (How-to for users)
Let’s say you lost your phone. Or perhaps you deleted the authenticator app by mistake. Or maybe you changed mobile phones and you need to reconfigure the Qualifio 2FA on your new device. In all those scenari, you should request help from an account administrator to reset your 2FA.
Once your 2FA is reset, you will have to go through the 2FA setup process again before you can gain access to your account.
“A user lost access to their 2FA device!” (How-to for Admins)
Need to help one of your users to get back up and running with Qualifio’s 2FA? Follow these steps to reset the two-factor authentication for a user:
- Log in to Qualifio as an Admin user.
- Go to Settings > Manage users > Users.
- Open the profile of the user you want to edit.
- Scroll down and select Reset 2FA. This option is also available by clicking (⋮).
- The system will prompt a confirmation message:
After reading the message, click Reset to continue or choose to Cancel.
The user will need to set up 2FA as if they were a new user on their next login attempt, as outlined in How to enable two-factor authentication.
If you have any further questions, please contact our support team.